The Life As A Teen


Hello

My name is Harmony

I am going to be discussing my daily and occasional social media use and when I use social media. When I start my week days I have an alarm on my phone set for 7:00 AM. I typically send a morning snapchat on Snapchat to all my streaks after I wake up. Snapchat is an app that lets you send photos and messages to your friends. It’s kind of like a messaging app but with pictures. And you can post pictures. Streaks are a certain amount of days you have snapped a person in a row. After sending my streaks, I start my morning by brushing my teeth, putting on clothes, and doing my hair. I usually finish getting ready around 7:30 AM and I snapchat some of my friends and watch videos of dancing, singing, and funny videos such as random things kids say and fail videos, on instagram on my couch. Instagram lets you post whatever you want, watch videos that people have posted and read about other people’s lives. I do this until about 7:38 AM when I leave for school. It gives me a chance to chill a little bit before I have to go learn and go to school.

When I am at school I only typically use my phone during class when I have a spare moment of time to snapchat my friends back. If I have a TA period I will use different kinds of social media Facebook to watch videos. I also use it to read articles typically about debate on social topics and alerts such as kidnappings, abuse, etc., and read posts about my friends and families lives. I may use other kinds of social media during this time to check up on a few things such as Gmail, to check my emails from colleges, NCSA, which I use to let college coaches track my softball and let them email me and see my accomplishments. It tells me when they follow me, have roster openings, have viewed my profile, have emailed me, etc. It is a very useful app to keep up to date on offers from colleges. After class and school is over I go to practice.

After school I have basketball and softball practices and I am not on social media. After practice I go home, eat, shower, do homework, and then whatever time I have before I go to bed at 11:00 PM, I use to go on all the kinds of social medias I discussed before. I also use Netflix when I have enough time to sit down and watch a movie and chill for a little bit before bed. Netflix allows me to watch all kinds of shows and movies such as action, drama, romance, comedy, horror, etc. I typically like to watch disney movies such as Mulan and Hercules, but I also like to watch movies like Waterboy, Troy, and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. Sometimes I occasionally look through my photos that I have taken with my camera and look at all my videos and pictures on my Iphone. Also sometimes if I have a decent amount of time I will go in the hottub and use spotify and youtube to sing and listen to music while I relax my muscles and have a nice relaxing soak. I typically listen to country music by artists such as Trace Adkins, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts, etc. and some pop music by artists such as Kelly Clarkson, Demi Lovato, Mariah Carey, etc., but these two apps can listen to all kinds of music from, rap, country, pop, gospel, all different genres. Sometime I record myself singing to try different ways of singing and adding in my own style using Voice Memos.Then I shower and listen to music while I shower, and then say goodnight to my friends on snapchat and set my alarm for 7:00AM to wake up in the morning and my day starts all over again.

On special occasions my social media use may change in the sites I use and how long I am on for. When I have a special occasions such as prom, a wedding, or homecoming, I will use online websites to purchase dresses and accessories such as Amazon and Lulus fashion lounge. I have used these two apps to purchase dresses for prom, homecoming and my sisters wedding. Another special occasion I have used online websites for is birthdays and anniversaries. I used Baseballism and Craigslist to buy birthday, christmas, and anniversary gifts for my dad, boyfriend, and other members of my family. Baseballism is a website where you can buy baseball related items such as hats, socks, and other accessories.This site I purchased a baseball hat from for my boyfriend as a christmas gift. Craigslist is used for all kind of items such as cars, furniture, animals, clothing, basically anything you can think of. You contact the seller and get in touch to go pick up your requested item. I don’t use this website as often, but I have used it to buy furniture. I have used Etsy before to buy a keychain as a gift before, but I have only used it one time. Etsy is just another shopping website. Wanelo is also another online app I have used to purchase a nike jacket for a cheaper price than it usually would be because Wanelo lets you get nice items for a cheaper price.

When I go on social media I tend to not always use my time in the best way. I wish I would use my time more wisely to use the sites that are very helpful for my future such as NCSA  to email college coaches and post more data about my softball skills and stats. I also wish I would do more researching on colleges and careers at my future school at Northwest Christian University which is an NAIA college is Eugene Oregon.

For my time spent on social media and on my phone, I wish I did less video watching and use that time to go on Studentvue more. Which the app allows you to view your grades and attendance and keep up with grades and assignments. I also wish I spent less time snapchatting people and instead actually go hang out with them or call them on the phone. I spend too much time watching people on a screen instead of going out and viewing things with my own eyes.

Social media can consume a huge chunk of people’s lives. I know it definitely consumes mine, and some people don’t even see it. They don’t realize how much they actually use it in all their daily routines. An alarm app is social media and people don’t think about it. I use social media in my everyday life in my daily routines and just for fun. But there is so many different kinds of social media. Social media can be apps that allow you to post things, and social media can be an app that shows you your grades. There is a huge variety of social media that every single person uses in their everyday lives.

Leave a comment